# **News Release**



Ramkota Hotel, 3200 W. Maple St., Sioux Falls, S.D. 57107 Phone: 605.338.2037 Fax: 605.338.1889 Jon J. Martin, Assistant Commissioner E-mail: info@northcentralconference.org Web: www.northcentralconference.org

For Immediate Release: November 12, 2006

## Three NCC Teams Qualify for NCAA Division II Football Championship

Nebraska-Omaha, North Dakota and South Dakota have received berths in the 24-team NCAA Division II Football Championship announced today by the NCAA. Play begins with the third, fourth, fifth and sixth seeds playing games Saturday. The top two seeds receive byes in the first round and will play their first playoff games on Saturday, November 25.

Nebraska-Omaha is the #2 seed in the Northwest Region and will receive a first-round bye before hosting the winner of the #3-seed North Dakota and #6-seed Winona State contest. #5-seed South Dakota will travel to #4-seed Northwood in the first round with the winner traveling to top-seed Grand Valley State in the second round.

The winner of the Northwest Region will face the Southeast Region in the quarterfinals on December 2.

### NCAA Division II Football Championship Northwest Region

#### First Round, Nov. 18

#6-seed Winona State (9-2) at #3-seed North Dakota (9-1), TBA #5-seed South Dakota (8-3) at #4-seed Northwood (8-2), Noon ET

Second Round, Nov. 25 WSU/UND winner at # 2-seed Nebraska-Omaha (8-2) USD/NU winner at #1-seed Grand Valley State (11-0)

#### **Quarterfinals, December 2**

Northwest Region vs. Southeast Region (North Carolina Central, North Alabama, Newberry, Elizabeth City State, Delta State, Albany State)

Semifinals, December 10 5:30 or 7 p.m. ET, ESPNU or ESPN2

Finals, December 16 Championship, Noon ET