

## **News Release**

Ramkota Hotel, 3200 W. Maple St., Sioux Falls, S.D. 57107
Phone: 605.338.0907 Fax: 605.338.1889
Jon J. Martin, Assistant Commissioner
Web: www.northcentralconference.org
E-mail: info@northcentralconference.org

For Immediate Release: March 5, 2007

## NCC Men's Basketball

## Anderson Leads 10 Players Named to All-NCC Men's Hoops Team

Sioux Falls, S.D. -- Luke Anderson of Minnesota State became the first four-time All-NCC men's basketball honoree and was named Most Valuable Player as part of the 2006-2007 All-North Central Conference men's basketball team announced today by the conference office. Minnesota State head coach Matt Margenthaler and South Dakota head coach Dave Boots earned Coach of the Year honors.

Harry Boyce of North Dakota was named Defensive Player of the Year while Tyler Cain of South Dakota was named the Freshman of the Year and teammate Dylan Grimsley nabbed Newcomer of the Year laurels.

Four players are repeat selections to the team led by four-time honoree Anderson. Nick Olson of Augustana is appearing on the team for the third time while David Dreas of St. Cloud State and Adam Sullivan of St. Cloud State are making their second appearance.

Anderson was selected as the Most Valuable Player after a season in which he led the league in scoring (20.6 ppg), finished fifth in 3-point field goals made (2.75 3fgpg), 10th in free throw shooting (79.2%), 11th in 3-point field goal pecentage (40.7%) and 14th in rebounding (4.8 rpg). Cain, selected as a Freshman of the Year, led the league in field goal percentage (60.9%, 39x64) and blocked shots (2.92 bspg), finished fourth in rebounding (7.3 rpg) and sixth in steals (1.33 spg). Boyce, the pick for Defensive Player of the Year, finished sixth in assists (3.33 apg) while averaging 3.6 rebounds and 0.33 blocked shots per game. Grimsley, the league's newcomer of the year after transferring from Northern lowa, led the league in steals (2.33 spg), finished second in rebounding (7.5 rpg), fourth in scoring (18.0 ppg) and ninth in assists (2.92 apg) as well as finishing in the top-15 in all stats categories except those involving three-point shooting. All statistics are for conference games only.

Margenthaler and Boots led their teams to a tie in the NCC regular-season championship with a 10-2 records. South Dakota captured the North Central Conference postseason championship with a win over Minnesota State. Both teams advanced to the North Central Region of the NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Championship beginning Saturday in Winona, Minn. where Minnesota State is the second seed and South Dakota is the fourth seed. It is the second consecutive and overall honor for Margenthaler and the sixth time that Boots has been granted NCC Coach of the Year status.

## 2006-2007 All-North Central Conference Men's Basketball Team

					NCC	NCC	
Name	School	Pos	Ht	Yr	PPG	RPG	Hometown
Luke Anderson^	Minnesota State	G/F	6-5	Sr.	20.6	4.8	Bloomington, Minn.
David Dreas*	St. Cloud State	G	6-0	Jr.	18.1	2.5	Winona, Minn.
Bryan Foss	Minnesota Duluth	G/F	6-7	Sr.	17.8	7.5	Plymouth, Minn.
Dylan Grimsley	South Dakota	G/F	6-6	So	. 18.0	7.5	Sioux City, Iowa
Eric Hall	South Dakota	F	6-6	Jr.	19.4	5.3	Huron, S.D.
Paris Kyles	Minnesota State	G	6-2	Sr.	16.2	3.0	Brooklyn Center, Minn.
Emmanuel Little	North Dakota	F	6-6	Jr.	15.2	9.0	Chicago, III.
Nick Olson%	Augustana	F	6-6	Sr.	15.0	4.8	Eden Prairie, Minn.
Adam Sullivan*	St. Cloud State	G	6-5	Sr.	15.4	3.7	Green Bay, Wis.
Tony Thomason	Minnesota State	G	6-2	Sr.	14.4	3.0	Bartonville, III.
*** · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	(0000 000T) 0/ TI				~~ ~~~		1 41

<sup>\*</sup>Two-time Selection (2006, 2007), %-Three-time selection (2005, 2006, 2007), ^-Four-time selection

Coaches of the Year: Matt Margenthaler, Minnesota State & Dave Boots, South Dakota

**Most Valuable Player:** Luke Anderson, Minnesota State **Defensive Player of the Year:** Harry Boyce, North Dakota

Freshman of the Year: Tyler Cain, South Dakota Newcomer of the Year: Dylan Grimsley, South Dakota

By Schools: Augustana (1), Minnesota Duluth (1), Minnesota State (3), North Dakota (1), St. Cloud State (2), South Dakota (2).

By Class: Sophomore (1), Junior (3), Senior (6)

Honorable Mention: Minnesota Duluth: Jordan Nuness, John Vaudreuil; Nebraska-Omaha: Michael Jenkins, Zac Robinson;

South Dakota: Steve Smith.