

# **News Release**

Ramkota Hotel, 3200 W. Maple St., Sioux Falls, S.D. 57107
Phone: 605.338.2037 Fax: 605.338.1889
Jon J. Martin, Assistant Commissioner
Web: www.northcentralconference.org
E-mail: info@northcentralconference.org

For Immediate Release: February 12, 2008

## Kavan, Liggins, Rains and Wilson Earn Track and Field Honors

Ramsey Kavan and Terry Liggins of South Dakota have been named the North Central Conference Indoor Track Athletes of the Week while Kaitlin Rains and Nick Wilson of Minnesota State have been named the North Central Conference Indoor Field Athletes of the Week.

Kavan, a sophomore from Yankton, S.D., had an automatic qualifying time for nationals with a 4:56.33 clocking in the mile run, good for second place at the Adidas Classic. She also finished third in the 1000-meter run with a time of 2:56.92.

Liggins, a senior from Omaha, Neb., recorded a season-best time of :07.97 to take fourth place in the 60-meter hurdles at the Adidas Classic. The time is an automatic qualifying performance for the NCAA Division II Indoor Track & Field Championships.

Rains, a junior from Spring Lake Park, Minn., won the pole vault (13-6 1/4) and the triple jump (38-4 3/4) at the Ted Nelson Classic. The pole vault height is an automatic qualifying performance for the NCAA Division II Indoor Track & Field Championships while the triple jump mark is a provisional mark.

Wilson, a senior from Mankato, Minn., placed first in the 200-meter dash at the Ted Nelson Classic with a NCAA provisional qualifying time of :22.15. He also set a new school record in the 300-meter dash with time of :34.91.

Others nominated: *Track Male:* Mark Barclay, North Dakota; Eric Atkinson, Minnesota Duluth. *Track Female:* Linnelle Clark, Minnesota State; Pinar Saka, Nebraska-Omaha; Renee Aune, North Dakota; Alyssa Wendt, Minnesota Duluth. *Field Male:* Nick Wilson, Minnesota State; Matt Rotert, South Dakota; Matt Fick, North Dakota; Matt Kleffman, Minnesota Staste. *Field Female:* Tia Haines, South Dakota; Lindsey Schultz, Augustana; Sarah Fegley, North Dakota; Elizabeth Crane, Minnesota Duluth; Amanda Kunkel, St. Cloud State.

#### 2007-08 Male Indoor Track Honor Roll

Dec. 11 - Terry Liggins, South Dakota
Jan. 15 - James Krajsa, Minnesota State
Jan. 22 - Dominic Artis, South Dakota
Jan. 29 - Eric Atkinson, Minnesota Duluth
Teb. 5 - Terry Liggins, South Dakota
Feb. 12 - Terry Liggins, South Dakota

#### 2007-08 Male Indoor Field Honor Roll

Dec. 11 - Ben Walters, South Dakota
Jan. 15 - Josh Robertson, Minnesota State
Jan. 22 - Jay Schroeder, North Dakota
Jan. 29 - Josh Robertson, Minnesota State
Feb. 5 - Nick Wilson, Minnesota State
Feb. 12 - Nick Wilson, Minnesota State

#### #NCC#

#### 2007-08 Female Indoor Track Honor Roll

Dec. 11 - Emma Erickson, South Dakota Jan. 15 - Brittany Henderson, Minnesota State Jan. 22 - Pinar Saka, Nebraska-Omaha Jan. 29 - Emma Erickson, South Dakota

Pinar Saka, Nebraska-Omaha Feb. 5 - Emma Erickson, South Dakota

Pinar Saka, Nebraska-Omaha

Feb. 12 - Ramsey Kavan, South Dakota

### 2007-08 Female Indoor Field Honor Roll

Dec. 11 - Katelin Rains, Minnesota State Jan. 15 - Katelin Rains, Minnesota State Jan. 22 - Katelin Rains, Minnesota State Jan. 29 - Becky Schulz, Augustana Feb. 5 - Lauren Stelten, Minnesota State Feb. 12 - Katelin Rains, Minnesota State