

News Release

Ramkota Hotel, 3200 W. Maple St., Sioux Falls, S.D. 57107
Phone: 605.338.2037 Fax: 605.338.1889
Jon J. Martin, Assistant Commissioner
E-mail: info@northcentralconference.org
Web: www.northcentralconference.org

For Immediate Release: March 8, 2007

24 NCC Wrestlers Headed to NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships

Twenty-four NCC wrestlers, including all 10 Minnesota State wrestlers, have qualified to complete at the NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships Friday and Saturday at the Health and Sports Center in Kearney, Neb. Along with the 10 Maverick wrestlers, Nebraska-Omaha qualified eight grapplers, Augustana five and St. Cloud State one.

Minnesota State captured eight titles at the recent NCAA North Region Championship en route to the regional team title. Nebraska-Omaha finished third with two champions while Augustana was fifth and St. Cloud State tied for seventh. NCC wrestlers claimed nine of the 10 weight classes. Nick Smith of Minnesota State was named the North Region Wrestler of the Year.

Nebraska-Omaha is attempting to win its fourth consecutive NCAA Division II Wrestling Championship. UNO won the title last year with 117 points while Minnesota State was fifth with 63.5 points. In the latest NWCA poll, Minnesota State is ranked second, Nebraska-Omaha sits fourth and Augustana is 14th.

NCC National Qualifiers

125 pounds: Nick Smith, Minnesota State*; Chris Trampe, Augustana

133 pounds: Jeff Pfaffinger, Minnesota State*; Jeff Rau, Nebraska-Omaha

141 pounds: Travis Elg, Minnesota State*; Sim Bribieseca, Nebraska-Omaha

149 pounds: Jason Rhoten, Minnesota State*; Todd Meneely, Nebraska-Omaha

157 pounds: Brandon Girtz, Minnesota State*; Austin Scarset, Augustana

165 pounds: Andy Pickar, Minnesota State*; Ross Taplin, Nebraska-Omaha

174 pounds: JD Naig. Nebraska-Omaha*: Tim Matheson, Minnesota State; Cody Henrikson, Augustana

184 pounds: Austin Boehm, Nebraska-Omaha*; Travis Krinkie, Minnesota State; Nick Wilkes, St. Cloud State

197 pounds: Ben Janike, Minnesota State; Jacob Marrs, Nebraska-Omaha; Nate Buys, Augustana

Heavyweight: Brady Wilson, Minnesota State*; Tony Lewis, Nebraska-Omaha; Ray O'Connor, Augustana

^{*}Denotes North Region Champion