News Release



Ramkota Hotel, 3200 W. Maple St., Sioux Falls, S.D. 57107 Phone: 605.338.2037 Fax: 605.338.1889 Jon J. Martin, Assistant Commissioner Web: www.northcentralconference.org E-mail: info@northcentralconference.org

For Immediate Release: January 29, 2008

Erickson, Saka, Atkinson, Schulz and Robertson Earn Track and Field Honors

Emma Erickson of South Dakota, Pinar Saka of Nebraska-Omaha and Eric Atkinson of Minnesota Duluth have been named the North Central Conference Indoor Track Athletes of the Week while Becky Schulz of Augustana and Josh Robertson of Minnesota State have been named the North Central Conference Indoor Field Athletes of the Week.

Erickson, a freshman from Gayville, S.D., recorded the best time in NCAA Division II competition this season with a DakotaDome record time of 2:10.29 in the 800-meter run. Erickson also anchored the Coyotes' 4x400 relay.

Saka, a junior from Istanbul, Turkey, posted the top time in NCAA Division II competition this season in winning the 200meter dash with a time of :24.46 at the Graphic Edge Invitational.

Atkinson, a junior from Spooner, Wis., set a school record with a second-place time of 8:34.17 in the 3,000-meter run at the Blizzard Open. He was a mere .12-seconds behind former University of Minnesota standout Jeremy Polson.

Schulz, a senior from Westbrook, Minn., won the high jump at the Iowa State Open with a leap of 5-6, matching her seasonbest mark.

Robertson, a junior from Milwaukee, Wis., won the high jump at the Carleton Open with a jump of 6-6.

Others nominated: *Track Male:* Josh LaBlanc, North Dakota; Scott Hargens, South Dakota; Bart Johnson, Augustana; James Krajsa, Minnesota State. *Track Female:* Renee Aune, North Dakota; Greta Stangl, Minnesota Duluth; Brita Johnson, Minnesota State. *Field Male:* Carl Hanson, North Dakota; Preston Scott, South Dakota; Jason Beutz, Minnesota Duluth. *Field Female:* Nikki Dalstrom, Minnesota State; Natalie Stout, South Dakota; Brittany Henderson, Minnesota State.

2007-08 Male Indoor Track Honor Roll

- Dec. 11 Terry Liggins, South Dakota
- Jan. 15 James Krajsa, Minnesota State
- Jan. 22 Dominic Artis, South Dakota
- Jan. 29 Eric Atkinson, Minnesota Duluth

2007-08 Male Indoor Field Honor Roll

- Dec. 11 Ben Walters, South Dakota
- Jan. 15 Josh Robertson, Minnesota State
- Jan. 22 Jay Schroeder, North Dakota
- Jan. 29 Josh Robertson, Minnesota State

#NCC#

2007-08 Female Indoor Track Honor Roll

- Dec. 11 Emma Erickson, South Dakota
- Jan. 15 Brittany Henderson, Minnesota State
- Jan. 22 Pinar Saka, Nebraska-Omaha
- Jan. 29 Emma Erickson, South Dakota
 - Pinar Saka, Nebraska-Omaha

2007-08 Female Indoor Field Honor Roll

- Dec. 11 Katelin Rains, Minnesota State
- Jan. 15 Katelin Rains, Minnesota State
- Jan. 22 Katelin Rains, Minnesota State
- Jan. 29 Becky Schulz, Augustana