

News Release

Ramkota Hotel, 3200 W. Maple St., Sioux Falls, S.D. 57107
Phone: 605.338.2037 Fax: 605.338.1889
Jon J. Martin, Assistant Commissioner
Web: www.northcentralconference.org
E-mail: info@northcentralconference.org

For Immediate Release: February 26, 2008

Erickson, Clementson, Rains, Scott and Fick Earn Track and Field Honors

Emma Erickson of South Dakota and Jared Clementson of Minnesota Duluth have been named the North Central Conference Indoor Track Athletes of the Week while Kaitlin Rains of Minnesota State, Preston Scott of South Dakota and Matt Fick of North Dakota have been named the North Central Conference Indoor Field Athletes of the Week.

Erickson, a freshman from Gayville, S.D., set state collegiate, DakotaDome and school records in the 1000-meter run with a winning time of 2:52.95 at the South Dakota Qualifier.

Clementson, a senior from, won the 800 meter run and surpassed the NCAA provisional mark for the second week in a row with a personal-best and winning time of 1:53.91 at the St. John's Quadrangular.

Rains, a junior from Spring Lake Park, Minn., continued on her torrid pace this season by setting a new school record in the triple jump with a winning and provisional-qualifying leap of 38-8 3/4 at the Parents Day Open. She also won the pole vault with an automatic-qualifying vault of 13-5 1/4.

Scott, a junior from Parker, S.D., had personal bests in winning the weight throw and finishing third in the shot put at the South Dakota qualifier. Scott had a mark of 55-02 in the weight throw and 46-8 3/4 in the shot put.

Fick, a senior from Grand Forks, N.D., took first place in the weight throw at the St. John's Quadrangular with a toss of 55-11 1/2.

Others nominated: *Track Male:* Scott Hargens, South Dakota; Mike Elliott, Minnesota State; Corey Hehling, North Dakota. *Track Female:* Brittany Henderson, Minnesota State; Alyssa Wendt, Minnesota Duluth. *Field Male:* Blake Ridgeway, Augustana; Josh Robertson, Minnesota State. *Field Female:* Bobbi Jo Buyck, Augustana; Cassie Corrigan, Minnesota Duluth.

#NCC#

2007-08 Male Indoor Track Honor Roll

- Dec. 11 Terry Liggins, South Dakota
- Jan. 15 James Krajsa, Minnesota State
- Jan. 22 Dominic Artis, South Dakota
- Jan. 29 Eric Atkinson, Minnesota Duluth
- Feb. 5 Terry Liggins, South Dakota
- Feb. 12 Terry Liggins, South Dakota
- Feb. 19 Terry Liggins, South Dakota
 - Denise Mokaya, Minnesota State
- Feb. 25 Jared Clementson, Minnesota Duluth

2007-08 Male Indoor Field Honor Roll

- Dec. 11 Ben Walters, South Dakota
- Jan. 15 Josh Robertson, Minnesota State
- Jan. 22 Jay Schroeder, North Dakota
- Jan. 29 Josh Robertson, Minnesota State
- Feb. 5 Nick Wilson, Minnesota State
- Feb. 12 Nick Wilson, Minnesota State
- Feb. 19 Jason Beutz, Minnesota Duluth
- Feb. 25 Preston Scott, South Dakota Matt Fick, North Dakota

2007-08 Female Indoor Track Honor Roll

- Dec. 11 Emma Erickson, South Dakota
- Jan. 15 Brittany Henderson, Minnesota State
- Jan. 22 Pinar Saka, Nebraska-Omaha
- Jan. 29 Emma Erickson, South Dakota
 - Pinar Saka, Nebraska-Omaha
- Feb. 5 Emma Erickson, South Dakota Pinar Saka, Nebraska-Omaha
- Feb. 12 Ramsey Kavan, South Dakota
- Feb. 19 Ramsey Kavan, South Dakota
- Feb. 25 Emma Erickson, South Dakota

2007-08 Female Indoor Field Honor Roll

- Dec. 11 Katelin Rains, Minnesota State
- Jan. 15 Katelin Rains, Minnesota State
- Jan. 22 Katelin Rains, Minnesota State
- Jan. 29 Becky Schulz, Augustana
- Feb. 5 Lauren Stelten, Minnesota State
- Feb. 12 Katelin Rains, Minnesota State
- Feb. 19 Shana Brown, Nebraska-Omaha Amanda Kunkel, St. Cloud State
- Feb. 25 Katelin Rains, Minnesota State