News Release



Ramkota Hotel, 3200 W. Maple St., Sioux Falls, S.D. 57107 Phone: 605.338.0907 Fax: 605.338.1889 Jon J. Martin, Assistant Commissioner Web: www.northcentralconference.org E-mail: info@northcentralconference.org

For Immediate Release: November 12, 2007

Four-Time Selection Braegelmann Hightlights All-NCC Volleyball Team

Sioux Falls, S.D. -- Four-time repeat selection Vicky Braegelmann of Minnesota Duluth highlights the 12-member All-North Central Conference volleyball team selected by league coaches and annouced today by the conference office. Minnesota Duluth placed four selections on the team while Augustana and Minnesota State is each honored with three players. All 12 honorees will be in action this weekend in the NCAA Division II Women's Volleyball Championship.

Minnesota Duluth's Vicky Braegelmann was voted the Most Valuable Player for the third consecutive year, South Dakota's Amber Kobus was named the Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive year and Minnesota State's Amanda Beekman was selected the Freshman of the Year. Jim Boos of Minnesota Duluth was named by his peers as Coach of the Year for the second time in his career and the second consecutive season.

Boos guided the Bulldogs to their fourth consecutive NCC title in their fourth year in the league and they are the top seed and host for the North Central Region of the NCAA Division II Women's Volleyball Championship. UMD posted a 12-0 mark in NCC matches this season, a feat achieved for the second consecutive year, and finished its four-year NCC stint with a 45-3 league mark. The Bulldogs will face South Dakota Thursday in the NCAA North Central Region tournament in Duluth, Minn.

Braegelmann, the reigning AVCA Division II Co-Player of the Year, led the league in kills (4.45 kpg) and was second in hitting percentage (.387) and points per game (4.82 ppg). She is first player to be named the NCC Most Valuable Player three times since the award was instituted in 1990.

Beekman finished sixth in the league kills (4.00 kpg) and blocks (0.83 kpg) and seventh in points (4.64 ppg).

Kobus, who finished second in service aces (0.43 sapg) and third in league digs (5.69 dpg), is the second player to earn consecutive Defensive Player of the Year honors since the award began in 1995. The only other time the feat has been accomplished was in 2001 and 2002 by Liz Archer of South Dakota State.

Other league leaders on the team include: UMD's Katie Gangelhoff in assists (15.48 apg) Sarah Wyffels in hitting percentage (.393) and Kari Wolford in service aces (0.70 sapg), Ashley Nachreiner of Minnesota State in points (4.83 ppg) and UNO's Carlie Christensen in blocks (1.44 bpg).

2007-2008 All-North Central Conference Volleyball Team

<u>Name</u>	<u>Team</u>	Pos.	<u>Yr.</u>	<u>Ht.</u>	<u>Hometown</u>	Top NCC Stats
Ellen Andrews	Augustana	RS	So.	6-1	Bancroft, Neb.	4.07 kpg, 0.35 sapg
Amanda Beekman	Minnesota State	OH	Fr.	5-11	Marshall, Minn.	4.00 kpg, 4.64 ppg
Vicky Braegelmann\$	Minnesota Duluth	RS	Sr.	6-0	Albany, Minn.	.387, 4.45 kpg, 4.82 ppg
Carlie Christensen^	Nebraska-Omaha	MH	Sr.	6-0	Omaha, Neb.	.368, 3.98 kpg, 4.77 ppg, 1.44 bpg
Katie Gangelhoff*	Minnesota Duluth	S	Jr.	5-8	South St. Paul, Minn.	15.48 apg
Lisa Hoegh	Augustana	S	Jr.	5-6	Byron, Minn.	14.39 apg
Kathleen Hruska	South Dakota	MH	Jr.	6-2	Sioux Falls, S.D.	.319, 3.81 kpg, 0.93 bpg, 4.48 ppg
Ashley Nachreiner	Minnesota State	OH	Jr.	6-0	Round Rock, Texas	4.26 kpg, 0.34 sapg, 4.83 ppg
Steph Sandstrom	Minnesota State	S	Sr.	5-8	Andover, Minn.	13.33 apg, 3.86 dpg
Cayla Schroeder	Augustana	OH	Jr.	5-8	Kasson, Minn.	4.35 kpg, 4.71 ppg, 5.09 dpg
Kari Wolford*	Minnesota Duluth	OH	Sr.	5-11	Avon, Minn.	0.70 sapg, 3.78 kpg, 4.88 dpg
Sarah Wyffels	Minnesota Duluth	MB	So.	5-10	Marshall, Minn.	.393, 3.58 kpg, 4.01 ppg

*-2-year selection, ^-3-year selection, \$-4-year selection

Most Valuable Player: Vicky Braegelmann, Minnesota Duluth (third consecutive year) Coach of the Year: Jim Boos, Minnesota Duluth (second consecutive year) Freshman of the Year: Amanda Beekman, Minnesota State Defensive Specialist of the Year: Amber Kobus, South Dakota (second consecutive year)

Class Breakdown: Senior (4), Junior (5), Sophomore (2), Freshman (1).

Team Breakdown: Augustana (3), Minnesota Duluth (4), Minnesota State (3), Nebraska-Omaha (1), South Dakota (1).

Honorable Mention: *Minnesota Duluth:* Danielle Beckstrand; *Nebraska-Omaha:* Nicole McLeod; *North Dakota:* Amanda Polzin; *St. Cloud State:* Emily Baldwin, Andreana Pieper; *South Dakota:* Amber Kobus.