## News Release



Ramkota Hotel, 3200 W. Maple St., Sioux Falls, S.D. 57107 Phone: 605.338.0907 Fax: 605.338.1889 Jon J. Martin, Assistant Commissioner Web: www.northcentralconference.org E-mail: info@northcentralconference.org

For Immediate Release: March 12, 2008

Jeana Hoffman and Ashley Langen Named MVP, Chad Lavin Named Coach of the Year

## Langen Leads 10-Member All-NCC Women's Basketball Team

Sioux Falls, S.D. -- North Dakota's Ashley Langen headlines the 10-member 2007-2008 All-North Central Conference women's basketball team as only the seventh NCC women's player to be named to the select squad for the fourth time in her career and also as the league's Most Valuable Player, sharing that honor with South Dakota's Jeana Hoffman. South Dakota head coach Chad Lavin received Coach of the Year honors for the fourth time in his career. The team is voted on by NCC coaches.

South Dakota's Jenna Hoffman and Augustana's Ashley Holiday were named league Defensive Players of the Year while Augustana's Molly Hayes and South Dakota's Amber Hegge were named Freshmen of the Year. Nebraska-Omaha's Amanda Brodsack was honored as the Newcomer of the Year.

Four of the 10 players are making a repeat appearance on the team led by the fourth appearance of Langen. South Dakota's Jeana Hoffman, Augustana's Ashley Holiday and North Dakota's Kierah Kimbrough all earned their second All-NCC honor.

Jeana Hoffman led the league in three-point field goals made (3.42 3fgpg), finished fifth in league scoring (16.0 ppg), eighth in three-point field goal percentage (38.3%) and 12th in steals (tied, 1.58 spg). Langen led the league in rebounding (12.4 rpg) and field goal percentage (61.9%), finished fourth in scoring (16.8 ppg), eighth in blocked shots (1.00 bspg) and 13th in free throw percentage (75.4%).

Jenna Hoffman finished sixth in steals (2.00 spg), ninth in assists (3.08 apg), 12th in rebounding (5.4 rpg), 15th in field goal percentage (45.3%) and 16th in scoring (10.7 ppg). Holiday was second in blocked shots (2.11 bspg), sixth in rebounding (6.8 rpg) ninth in steals (1.78 spg) and 17th in scoring (10.3 ppg).

Hayes finished her freshman campaign averaging 15.8 points (6th) and 3.1 rebounds per NCC game and finishing second in three-point field goal percentage (46.7%), fourth in field goal percentage (53.6%), fifth in assists (3.75 apg), sixth in free throw percentage (82.8%) and three-point field goals made (tied, 1.75 3fgpg). Hegge tallied 4.6 rebounds per game (20th) while averaging 7.4 points per game and hitting 46.3% of her field goal attempts.

Brodsack, a junior transfer from Kirkwood Community College, was 10th in league rebounding with 5.7 rebounds per game while scoring 9.0 points per contest.

Lavin guided the Coyotes to a 12-0 NCC mark and a 28-1 mark overall, becoming only the sixth NCC team to complete the conference slate unsathed. The Coyotes captured their fifth NCC title and their first NCC Postseason Tournament Championship. It is the fourth time that Lavin, in this 26th and final season, has received the award. USD will host the North Central Region of the NCAA Division II Women's Basketball Championships beginning Friday.

## 2007-2008 All-North Central Conference Women's Basketball Team

					NCC	NCC	
Name	School	Pos	Ht	Yr	PPG	RPG	Hometown
Katy Freeman	Minnesota Duluth	G	5-11	Sr.	13.6	3.3	Duluth, Minn.
Alyssa Green	Nebraska-Omaha	G	5-9	So.	14.7	5.8	Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Jeana Hoffman*	South Dakota	G	5-8	Sr.	16.0	4.2	Mitchell, S.D.
Jenna Hoffman	South Dakota	G	5-8	Sr.	10.7	5.4	Mitchell, S.D.
Ashley Holiday*	Augustana	F/C	6-2	Sr.	10.3	6.8	Hayti, S.D.
Heather Johnson	Minnesota State	G	5-8	Jr.	17.8	3.4	Janesville, Minn.
Kierah Kimbrough*	North Dakota	F	6-1	Jr.	17.0	8.6	Greenbush, Minn.
Ashley Langen\$	North Dakota	С	6-2	Sr.	16.8	12.4	Kennedy, Minn.
Amy Puthoff	Augustana	G	5-8	Jr.	17.8	5.0	Hartford, S.D.
Kayla Rengel	St. Cloud State	F	6-0	Sr.	12.7	7.1	St. Cloud, Minn.

\*Two-time selection (2007 and 2008), ^Three-Time selection (2006, 2007 and 2008), \$Four-Time Selection (2005, 06, 07 and 08)

Coach of the Year: Chad Lavin, South Dakota

Most Valuable Players: Jeana Hoffman, South Dakota & Ashley Langen, North Dakota

Defensive Players of the Year: Jenna Hoffman, South Dakota & Ashley Holiday, Augustana

Freshmen of the Year: Molly Hayes, Augustana & Amber Hegge, South Dakota

Newcomer of the Year: Amanda Brodsack, Nebraska-Omaha

**By Schools:** Augustana (2), Minnesota Duluth (1), Minnesota State (1), Nebraska-Omaha (1), North Dakota (2), St. Cloud State (1), South Dakota (2).

By Class: Sophomore (2), Junior (3), Senior (6)

Honorable Mention: Augustana: Molly Hayes, Whitney Hofer; Minnesota State: Tiffany Moe, Joanne Noreen; South Dakota: Ashley Robinette, Bridget Yoerger.