About the North Central Conference

      The North Central Conference prided itself on the success of its student-athletes on and off of the field-of-play. In the 57 years since the North Central Conference joined the NCAA, NCC member schools have brought home 43 NCAA Division II national team championships and over 325 individual national titles. NCC student-athletes have also earned more than 350 ESPN The Magazine/CoSIDA Academic All-America honors and 175 NCAA Post-Graduate Scholarships.

      The conference was formed at a meeting in the fall of 1921 and the first conference championship was the track & field championship held in the spring of 1922 in Brookings, S.D. The conference dissolved on June 30, 2008. The final NCC competition was the NCC Baseball Tournament on May 11 in Omaha, Neb. 

      The North Central Conference awarded championships in 20 sports. The 10 men's NCC sports were: baseball, basketball, cross country, football, golf, indoor track, outdoor track, swimming, tennis and wrestling. The 10 women's sports were: basketball, cross country, golf, indoor track, outdoor track, soccer, softball, swimming, tennis and volleyball.