Oct 1, 2007
Football: October 1

Jeff Souder

[Click Here for Full PDF Release]

Offensive - Ryan Chappell & Brian O'Neill

Ryan Chappell of North Dakota and Brian McNeill of Nebraska-Omaha have been named the NCC Offensive Player of the Week.

Chappell, a sophomore running back from Grand Forks, N.D., rushed 26 times for 254 yards (9.8 ypc) and a touchdown in UND's win over Augustana.

McNeill, a junior running back from Philadelphia, Pa., rushed 20 times for 209 yards (10.4 ypc) and two touchdowns. McNeill's second TD was the decisive one in the game. MSU had just pulled within 31-15 late in the third quarter. After UNO took the kickoff at its own 65, McNeill broke free for a 65-yard TD run on first down to make to 38-15 with 59 seconds left in the third.

Others nominated: Joe Klumper, Augustana; Brandan Anson, Minnesota Duluth; Ben King, Minnesota State; Johnny Lopez, Central Washington; Amos Allen, South Dakota.

Defensive - Shane Simmons & Jeff Souder

Shane Simmons of Western Washington and Jeff Sounder of Nebraska-Omaha have been named the NCC Defensive Players of the Week.

Simmons, a senior outside linebacker from Kent, Wash., racked up 18 tackles (10 solo, 8 assists), including one sack for a loss of 11 yards against Minnesota Duluth.

Souder, a junior linebacker from Bellevue, Neb., tallied 13 tackles (12 solo, 1 assist) including three for loss and a sack. He forced a second-quarter fumble that Randy Kush picked up and returned a school-record 81 yards to give UNO a 21-0 lead. He also blocked a punt in the second quarter, giving UNO the ball at the MSU 42.

Also nominated: Willie Davis, Minnesota State; Brandon McMichael, Augustana; Zach Johnson, South Dakota; Chris Hemphill, Central Washington; Ward DeMontigny, North Dakota.

Special Teams - Tim Stanek

Tim Stanek of South Dakota has been named the NCC Special Teams Player of the Week.

Stanek, a sophomore kicker from Walthill, Neb., banged out four punts for 166 yards (41.5 ypp) in USD's loss to McNeese State.

Also nominated: Joe Nordin, Augustana; Garrett Rolsma, Central Washington; Brandon Hellevang, North Dakota.