Nov 9, 2007
Four NCC Players Selected as Harlon Hill Candidates

Quarterback Mike Reilly of Central Washington, quarterback Ben King of Minnesota State, running back Brian McNeill of Nebraska-Omaha and wide receiver/returner Weston Dressler of North Dakota will represent the North Central Conference as candidates for the Harlon Hill Trophy.

The field, announced today by the Harlon Hill Award committee in Florence, Alabama, includes 24 nationwide candidates for the trophy, which is awarded to the Division II National Player of the Year. Seven of the candidates represent the NCAA's Northwest Region, and a total of 11 are quarterbacks.

The other candidates from the Northwest Region are running back Joique Bell from Wayne State (Mich.), quarterback Brad Iciek from Grand Valley State, and quarterback Mark Nicolet from Hillsdale.

Running back Danny Woodhead of Chadron State, who won the 2006 Harlon Hill Trophy, is also among the final candidates for this year's award.

Players are nominated and voted on by the sports information directors at the 150 NCAA Division II football-playing institutions. The 24 initial candidates will be placed on regional ballots and the top two players from each of the four NCAA regions will advance to the national ballot when regional voting concludes on November 16.

The winner of the 2007 award, which is presented by the National Harlon Hill Award Committee, will be announced at the 22nd annual Harlon Hill Trophy Presentation Banquet on Friday, December 14 in Florence, Ala., on the night before the NCAA Division II National Championship Game.