[Click Here for PDF Results]

Minnesota State & Augustana Tie for NCC Men's Golf Championship

Minnesota State overcame a 7-shot deficit entering the final round to earn a share of the NCC Men's Golf Championship with Augustana Monday at Minnehaha Country Club. 

It is MSU's 11th title overall and first since 2000. For Augustana, it is the Vikings' first-ever NCC golf title. 

Mitch Olinger led Minnesota State's charge. Olinger fired a 74 on Monday to claim medalist honors at 227. He edged out Augustana's Chris Mithelman who finished at 230 following a final round 76. 

The Vikings and Mavericks each finished the 54-hole tournament with scores of 928. North Dakota finished third at 942, while South Dakota was fourth at 961. St. Cloud State had its entire team disqualified, but SCSU is appealing the final results. 

Augustana placed four golfers in the top 10, while MSU had three. Joining Mithelman in the top 10 for Augie were Matt Pridey (3rd), Aaron Hieb (7th) and Brett Benson (tie-8th). Olinger was joined by MSU teammates Pete Lacoursiere (4th) and Arron Nelson (tie-8th).