[Click Here for PDF Release]  

NCC Golf Decision Upheld

North Central Conference Commissioner Roger Thomas announced today that the appeal by St. Cloud State of its disqualifications from the NCC Golf Championships has been denied. The final standings will remain as they were announced at the conclusion of the tournament on Monday.

The appeal was heard by a panel of athletic administrators from the league who acted as an advisory group to the commissioner who made the final decision. The issue concerned the violation of a United States Golf Association practice rule.

In the women's tournament, Augustana's Courtney Belanger won a 1-hole playoff to earn medalist honors, while Nebraska-Omaha won the team title at the North Central Conference Women's Golf Championships Monday at Minnehaha Country Club.

Belanger, a freshman, shot an 81 on Monday to tie second-round leader Lindsay Newton of UNO. Both players finished at 235. However, Belanger parred the first playoff hole, while Newton had a bogey after her approach shot landed in a bunker.

UNO, which had a 10-shot lead after 2 rounds, shot a 336 on Monday to hold on for its third NCC crown, and first since 2003.

Augustana made a final day charge. The Vikings shot 331 to trim the deficit in half to earn runner-up honors, the program's best-ever finish. North Dakota finished third at 976, followed by Minnesota State at 1009 and South Dakota at 1036.

Lynn Mulligan of UNO was third individually at 238, while 2005 NCC champion Carley Roach of Augustana was fourth. North Dakota's Sarah Lucken rounded out the top five.

In the men's tournament, Minnesota State overcame a 7-shot deficit entering the final round to earn a share of the NCC Men's Golf Championship with Augustana Monday at Minnehaha Country Club.

It is MSU's 11th title overall and first since 2000. For Augustana, it is the Vikings' first-ever NCC golf title.

Mitch Olinger led Minnesota State's charge. Olinger fired a 74 on Monday to claim medalist honors at 227. He edged out Augustana's Chris Mithelman who finished at 230 following a final round 76.

The Vikings and Mavericks each finished the 54-hole tournament with scores of 928. North Dakota finished third at 942, while South Dakota was fourth at 961.

Augustana placed four golfers in the top 10, while MSU had three. Joining Mithelman in the top 10 for Augie were Matt Pridey (3rd), Aaron Hieb (7th) and Brett Benson (tie-8th). Olinger was joined by MSU teammates Pete Lacoursiere (4th) and Arron Nelson (tie-8th).